• Home ·
  • Events ·
  • DBCC Turkey TT & Annual Prizegiving
  • 28Dec

    DBCC Turkey TT & Annual Prizegiving

    The Club held its annual Turkey TT and Club Awards on St.Stephens Day, with all funds raised being donated to the Saint Vincent de Paul.

    There was a good turnout of approximately 30 members at Biddys to take on the 10 mile challenge. Participants had the choice of going solo or in pairs, with each entry predicting their finishing time and the winner being the individual/ team which was closest to their predicted time. It was soon clear that quite a few had underestimated the effects of the Christmas Day shenannigans  with most teams finishing well off(and slower than) their predicted times. The individual entry of Linda McHugh and the team entry of brothers Kieran & Conor Meehan both predicted times just 10 seconds under their actual results. Our thanks to the marhsals and timekeepers who always do such a great job.

    With the hard part over, everyone retired to Biddys for Soup and Sandwiches to warm the bones again. Our thanks to Biddys for the lovely spread. The presentation of the club awards for 2017 then took place with new Club Chairperson Paul McGroary handing out the Prizes.

    Club Person of the Year: Eugene Murray
    As voted by club members the first recipient of the Liam Hyland Cup, is Eugene Murray, a new award dedicated to the memory of our good friend and supporter of the club, who sadly past away in September this year. Eugene has been a stalwart of the club since it was established over 6 years ago and held posts of Treasure, Secretary and PRO over the years.

    Ted McCaffrey accepting the Liam Hyland Cup on behalf of Eugene Murray.

    Ted McCaffrey accepting the Liam Hyland Cup on behalf of Eugene Murray.

    Best Club Cyclist: Paul McCarter – The judges had a very easy job deciding the winner of this award. This is the second year in a row that Paul won this accolade, but this year he was even better than 2016! Winner of 3 National Championship medals in Road Race (Silver), Time Trail (Silver) and XMC (Gold), along with 2 Ulster titles as Road Race and Time Trail Champion, all in the M40 category. Not to mention that Paul won all of these titles after having raced in and finishing the An Post Ras back in May of 2017. Paul also won the Bann Valley Classic, a stage of the Wexford 3 Day, two of the Donegal Mountain Bike Challenges along with numerous other top 10 finishes in open races throughout the year. Paul is a fantastic ambassador for the club and a member that we are very proud to call our own.

    Treasurer, Rionach McCarter, presents award to Paul McCarter

    Club Treasurer, Rionach McCarter, presents award to Paul McCarter

    DBCC Club Champion: Ronan McCauley – Ronan had a quiet year by his standards but a brilliant victory at the Club Championships ensured that 2017 will be a year that he can be proud of. Let’s hope that holding the title will spur Ronan onto a great season of racing in 2018.


    Club Champion – Ronan McCauley

    Best New Comer: Darren Moy – Well done to Darren Moy who is the 2017 DBCC ‘Best New Comer’. The ‘Big Man’ reached a milestone Birthday this year and set himself a personal challenge of completing 40 Sporting events in 2017. Between Sportives/Club League events/Adventure Races and running events, Darren hit his target back in September when he completed Gaelforce North. Darren has also been a regular on our Sunday Spins throughout the year. DBCC has always prided itself on being a welcoming and friendly club, so it’s brilliant to see that we are still attracting new members after 6 years of existence.

    Darren being presented with his award.

    Darren being presented with his award.

    Most Improved Cyclist: Conor Meehan – Conor has always been a keen athlete, having participated in numerous multi-disciplined events such as WAAR Donegal etc. However, this year Conor concentrated primarily on cycling and he had a fantastic season gaining promotion to A3 Racing status, in only his first season of open racing! Season highlights included 3rd in the Westport grandfondo, 4th in the Donegal Atlantic Way Ultra Two Man Race and finishing 6th overall at the Wexford 3 Day.

    Most Improved Cyclist - Conor Meehan

    Most Improved Cyclist – Conor Meehan

    Best Marshal: Kevin McGlynn – Kevin has been a regular on marshalling duties down through the years, always available to help out when needed. Even though Kevin took a step back from club competition this year he was always reliable to marshal and help motivate competitors throughout the year!

    Best Marshal - Kevin McGlynn

    Best Marshal – Kevin McGlynn

    There was also a special award to Darragh & Paul McCarter in recognition of their participation in the 2017 An Post Ras. A fantastic achievement by the brothers and one that the club are very proud of.

    Man of the Ras

    Man of the Ras – Darragh McCarter

    There was also a presentation to youth cyclists Joe Reid, Oisin Reid and Oisin Doherty (AAA). Great to see the next generation of Donegal cyclists being recognised for their efforts.

    Be Sociable, Share!

Comments are closed.